Mosmin – Helping women speak up

Khiwai, a village menaced by community tensions in Uttar Pradesh

« Khiwai Khiwai ? »

The car driver utters those couple words like an incantation every time we pass by a shopkeeper or a farmer along the road. Our car wanders among lush plantations and canals in the Uttar Pradesh countryside, looking for the Muslim village of Khiwai. As we explore this wondrous rural landscape, dotted with villages and mosques, it is easy to forget that Delhi is not so far away.

 

The long journey is not unpleasant. One is easily fascinated by the intricate paintings that cover Indian trucks, as well as the bright colors of the armies of rickshaws that gather every time we approach a village. We are in the period of Ganesh Chaturthi, the festival of the god Ganesh, and Hindu families organize big celebrations, immersing statues of the elephant god in the canals, surrounded by a fanfare of music and confetti.

On the banks of the Hindon river, one of these celebrations takes a menacing turn. While the party is in full swing, a Muslim observes the celebration with disdain, and quietly berates the crowd. The Hindus seem to ignore him, until one of the musicians turns around and stares at him with a wry smile.

 

This brief interaction is a reminder of the tensions that plagued Uttar Pradesh for decades. A highly populated rural state, it is home to an overwhelming majority of Hindus, who see this region as the cradle of their religion and culture. Most of the sacred cities of Hinduism, such as Varanasi and Ayodhya, are located in this Northern region of India.

 

Muslims are the largest minority in Uttar Pradesh, and violences against them are common. Memories of the 1990s anti-Muslim pogroms are still vivid: a period of massive violence in the state, which started with the demolition of the Mughal Mosque of Babri, in 1992, by Hindus who claimed that it had been built on the birthplace of Rama, a major incarnation of the god Vishnu.

Khiwai 1.jpg

The village of Khiwai is one of the few predominantly Muslim villages in Uttar Pradesh. Responding to the recent upsurge of religious violence, the village is currently ruled by conservative religious leaders, who observe a rigorous vision of Islam. Women live under the supervision of their parents, husbands or parents-in-law, and children are pushed to go to the Koranic school instead of public school.

 

As we finally approach the village, it is easy to distinguish the small Hindu quarter from the large Muslim section. Few women are present in the alleyways, except for those who stealthily peek at the newcomers from their doors and windows. However, it is impossible to feel lonely, as one is quickly surrounded by hordes of children, fascinated by the camera and the microphone.

 

The teenagers all sport Neymar-style haircuts, while others jump in front of the camera, shouting "selfie!" to request a picture. Gandhi used to say that the real India wasn’t in Calcutta or Mumbai, but in the nation’s countless villages. Khiwai has not been spared from globalization, however.

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/15

To reach our objective, one still has to cross a maze of brick houses and mosques, surrounded by the curious gaze of children. In the heart of this small village, Mosmin awaits us.

Mosmin, a feminist craftswoman in a village ruled by men

Mosmin is an artisan, born in a family of farmers from Khiwai. When her husband left her for another woman, she returned to her parents’ home despite the stigma she suffered for living without her spouse.

Already a mother of 3 children, she started to create handicrafts for conventional contractors in order to provide for her family. However, her salary was low and inconsistent.

After hearing about the TARA projects, association, which helps artisans access fair-trade, she decided to get in touch with them.

Despite her family banning her from leaving the village, she took a bus to Delhi to meet the president of TARA Projects. It was the first time she had left Khiwai since her marriage.

 

With the support of TARA, Mosmin managed to found a workshop in her village, making sure to make it as welcoming as possible: installing air conditioning, organizing displays, making driking water available, among other things. Little by little, she convinced the women of her town to come and work with her, while reassuring their families that there was no risk in the workshop.

 

At first, the village’s men were suspicious of Mosmin’s project, and headed to TARA Projects’ headquarters. Indeed, they were afraid that this new workshop would be a place where women would see other men. However, after finding out that TARA was headed by a woman, they felt reassured and allowed Mosmin to go on with her initiative.

 

Today, Mosmin’s workshop has become a space where women can not only earn their own money, but also speak and share ideas freely, without being overseen by men. With TARA’s support, they even organized literacy and math classes to help craftswomen to better negotiate their wages.

 

17 craftswomen currently work on a permanent basis in the workshop, while many others participate sporadically. When they have orders, they earn 350 rupees per day for 6 to 7 hours of work (the minimum wage per day for unskilled work in Uttar Pradesh in 2019 was of 318.42 Rupees).

 

Mosmin has now become an example for many women in Khiwai. She sends her children to public school, and fights for gender equality by giving work opportunities to women, who can now earn an income, become independent and be recognized in their community.

 « We did not have the chance to go to school, but now my children are receiving an education. This was possible thanks to fair trade. It gave us the strength to speak out about what we think »

-Manuel-Antonio Monteagudo

Mosmin -Donner la parole aux femmes

Khiwai, village assiégé par les tensions communautaires d’Uttar Pradesh

« Khiwai Khiwai ? » C’est la phrase que répète le conducteur aux marchands de journaux et aux cultivateurs alors que la voiture erre parmi les plantations et les canaux dans la campagne d’Uttar Pradesh, à la recherche du village musulman de Khiwai. On oublie facilement que Delhi n’est pas si loin, pendant que l’on traverse ce paysage rural, ponctué de villages et de mosquées.

 

La recherche n’est pas désagréable. On est vite fasciné par les camions indiens, aux carrosseries couvertes de peintures, ou par les couleurs vives des touk-touks qui se multiplient à chaque fois que l’on approche d’un village. On est dans la période du Ganesh Chaturthi, le festival du dieu Ganesh, et certaines familles hindoues organisent de grandes festivités, en immergeant des statuettes du dieu-éléphant dans les canaux, avec une fanfare de musique et de confettis.

Aux abords de la rivière Hindon, une de ces célébrations prend des allures de provocation. Alors que la fête bat son plein, un musulman observe la célébration avec un air réprobateur, et lance quelques imprécations à la multitude. Les hindous semblent l’ignorer, mais l’un des musiciens se retourne et le dévisage d’un sourire goguenard.

Cette brève interaction rappelle les tensions qui traversent l’Uttar Pradesh depuis des décennies. État rural extrêmement peuplé, il abrite une majorité écrasante d’hindous, qui voient cette région comme le berceau de leur religion et de leur culture. La plupart des villes sacrées de l’hindouisme, comme Varanasi et Ayodhya, se situent dans cette région du Nord de l’Inde.

 

Les musulmans sont la première minorité de l’Uttar Pradesh, et les conflits à leur encontre sont monnaie courante. La mémoire des pogroms anti-musulmans des années 90 est encore vive : une véritable vague de violence commencée lors de la démolition de la mosquée Moghole de Babri, en 1992, par des hindous qui revendiquaient qu’elle avait été construite sur le lieu de naissance de Rama, incarnation du dieu Vishnou.

Khiwai 1.jpg

Le village de Khiwai est un des rares villages à majorité musulmane de l’État d’Uttar Pradesh. En réponse à la recrudescence des violences communautaires, il est actuellement sous l’emprise de chefs religieux conservateurs, qui imposent une vision rigoriste de l’Islam. Les femmes vivent sous la surveillance de leurs parents, leurs maris ou leurs beaux-parents, et les enfants sont poussés à préférer l’école Coranique à l’école publique.

Alors qu’on approche enfin le village, on aperçoit vite la division entre le petit quartier hindou et la vaste section musulmane. Peu de femmes sont présentes, hormis celles qui observent les visiteurs d’un regard furtif depuis leurs portes et leurs fenêtres. Mais l’ambiance est loin d’être solitaire, car les enfants débarquent par milliers, fascinés par la caméra et le microphone.

 

Les adolescents portent tous des coupes de cheveux à la Neymar, d’autres sautent face à l’objectif en criant « selfie ! » pour réclamer une photo. On attribue à Gandhi d’avoir dit que la vraie Inde ne se trouvait pas à Calcutta ni à Mumbai, mais dans ses innombrables villages. Khiwai n’a pourtant pas été épargnée par la mondialisation.

1/15

Il faut encore traverser un dédale de maisons et de mosquées de briques, entouré par le regard curieux des enfants. Au cœur de ce petit village, il y a Mosmin.

Mosmin, artisane féministe dans un village d’hommes

Mosmin est une jeune artisane issue d’une famille de paysans de Khiwai. Délaissée par son mari, qui l’abandonna pour une autre femme, elle est revenue vivre avec ses parents malgré la stigmatisation dont elle souffrait en tant que femme délaissée.

Déjà mère de 3 enfants, elle a commencé à produire de l’artisanat pour des revendeurs du commerce conventionnel afin de subvenir aux besoins de sa famille. Cependant, la rémunération était dérisoire et inconstante.

Après avoir eu vent de l’association TARA projects, qui aidait des artisans à accéder au commerce équitable, elle décida d’entrer en contact avec eux.

Malgré l’interdiction de sa famille, elle prit un bus pour Delhi pour rencontrer Moon, la présidente de TARA Projects. C’était la première fois qu’elle quittait Khiwai depuis son mariage.

Avec le soutien de TARA, Mosmin est parvenue à fonder un atelier dans son village, en veillant à le rendre le plus accueillant possible : air conditionné, étalages organisés, eau potable… Petit à petit, elle a convaincu les femmes de venir travailler dans ses locaux, tout en rassurant leurs familles qu’il n’y avait pas de risques dans l’atelier.

Toujours méfiants vis à vis du projet de Mosmin, les hommes ont affrété un bus pour aller visiter TARA Projects à Delhi. En effet, ils craignaient que cet atelier soit une ruse des femmes pour voir d’autres hommes. Toutefois, après avoir constaté que TARA était dirigé par une femme, ils se sont sentis rassurés et ont permis à Mosmin développer son projet.

Aujourd’hui, l’atelier de Mosmin est devenu un lieu où les femmes peuvent gagner leur propre argent, mais aussi parler et s’amuser librement, loin du regard des hommes. Avec le soutien de TARA, on y a même organisé des séances d’alphabétisation et des cours de mathématiques pour aider les artisanes à négocier leurs salaires.

17 artisanes travaillent actuellement dans l’atelier de façon permanente, mais plusieurs autres y travaillent de façon ponctuelle. Quand elles ont des commandes, elles gagnent 350  roupies par jour pour 6 à 7 heures de travail (le salaire minimum par jour en 2019 pour le  travail non qualifié en Uttar Pradesh était de 318.42 Roupies).

Mosmin est désormais devenue un exemple pour beaucoup de femmes de son village. Elle envoie ses enfants à l’école publique, et elle se bat pour l’égalité des genres en donnant l’opportunité aux femmes de travailler, d’avoir un revenu, de devenir indépendantes et d’être reconnues au sien de leur communauté.

 « Nous n’avons pas eu la chance d’aller à l’école mais maintenant mes enfants reçoivent une éducation. Cela a été possible grâce au commerce équitable. Il nous a donné la force de dire ce que nous pensons. »

-Manuel-Antonio Monteagudo

artisans du monde.png
logo TARA mieux.png
fvr_logo_rgb.png
logo resacoop.jpg

Le contenu de ce site relève de la seule responsabilité d’ODDATARA et ne peut en aucun cas être considéré comme reflétant la position de l'Union Européenne.

Pour toute question, nous contacter sur: oddatara@gmail.com

© Webmaster Natacha Cailler. Vidéos, Articles, Photos et Webdoc de Manuel-Antonio Monteagudo