E_SDG goals_icons-individual-rgb-12-150p

Goal 12: Responsible consumption and production

« Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns »

This Objective encourages the efficient use of resources and energy, by creating sustainable infrastructure and ensuring access to basic services for all, with decent and environmentally friendly jobs. It aims to create work by reducing future economic, environmental and social costs.

This transformation of production patterns must go hand in hand with the education of consumers, by providing them information on the production patterns through education programs as well as standards and labels. Like most of the SDGs, this is a goal that will only be fully achieved with the active action of the people.

This SDG is represented in India by the story of Babloo, who fled the conventional artisan workshop where he was being exploited, in order to join a fair-trade workshop, where his salary is aboave the minimum wage and his health is protected. In France, we present the story of Ardelaine, a cooperative that creates wool products with ecological and responsible methods, and Les Hirondelles, a fashion brand that produces clothing in partnership with decently paid artisans from their region.

F_SDG goals_icons-individual-rgb-12.png

Objectif 12 : Consommation et production responsables

« Promouvoir des habitudes de Consommation et de Production Durables »

Cet Objectif encourage à utiliser les ressources et l’énergie de manière efficace, en mettant en place des infrastructures durables et en assurant à tous l’accès aux services de bases, avec des emplois décents et respectueux de l’environnement. Il s’agit de créer du travail en réduisant les coûts économiques, environnementaux et sociaux futurs.

Cette transformation des démarches de production doit s’accompagner d’une éducation des consommateurs, en leur fournissant des informations sur ces démarches, par le biais de sensibilisations, mais aussi de normes et d’étiquettes. Il s’agit, à l’instar de la plupart des ODD, d’un objectif qui ne sera atteint pleinement qu’avec un engagement actif de la population.

Cet ODD est représenté en Inde par l’histoire de Babloo, qui a fui un atelier d’artisanat conventionnel, où il était exploité, afin de rejoindre un atelier d’artisans inséré dans le commerce équitable, où son salaire est négocié à partir du salaire minimum et sa santé est préservée. En France, nous présentons l’histoire d’Ardelaine, une coopérative qui produit des produits en laine avec des démarches écologiques et responsables, et Les Hirondelles, une marque de mode qui produit de la couture en partenariat avec des artisans régionaux, payés décemment.