The Canuts - An age-old struggle for decent work

Lyon, last stop of the Silk Road

Lyon, the capital of the Auvergne-Rhône Alpes region, is one of the oldest cities in France, founded as “Lugdunum”  by the Romans under the name of Lugdunum in the first century BC. As the oldest Christian city in the country, it is also a very important city for French Catholics.

 

Built at the confluence of the rivers Rhône and Saône, Lyon holds an ancient reputation as a commercial city, receiving traders from the prosperous markets of Switzerland and Italy. Even today, Lyon is considered a major city in France, renowned for its gastronomy as well as its ancient architecture and universities.

Lyon 1.jpg

As a major European trading city, Lyon is often regarded as one of the last stops of the famous Silk Roads. These roads once connected the prosperous Chinese empire to European states, in a constant exchange of knowledge and goods, including the famous silk. Even though this network has always existed, it lived its golden age during the European Middle Ages.

Silk first reached in Lyon in the 15th century, when it was sold in its markets by Italian artisans. After noticing that the French elites loved this fabric, King Louis XI set out to found silk workshops in France. After a difficult start, these workshops eventually established themselves in Lyon, which became a major capital of silk production for the courts of Europe.

 

In 1801, inventor Joseph Marie Jacquard created a mechanism that revolutionized the production of silk: the Mécanique Jacquard, an ingenious machine that allows individual workers to create intricate fabrics.

76693331_153186766052148_517015101667436

This new machine, which greatly simplified silk works, permitted the emergence of a community of craftsmen which would leave a mark in the history of Lyon: the Canuts.

The legacy of the Canuts in Lyon

 

Lyon is a city spread over two hills around the Rhône: amongst them, the Lyonnais like to distinguish "the hill that prays" (Fourvière, to the West) from the "hill that works" (La Croix Rousse, to the Northeast). Indeed, if Christian churches and basilicas abound on the ancestral hill of Fourvière, Croix Rousse hill was once filled with the silk workshops, of the Canuts.

Nowadays, the Canuts no longer exist, and the Croix Rousse has become a bohemian district, much appreciated by the Lyonnais. However, its Canut heritage is still clearly visible, with its tall building, where the Canuts installed their 4-meter-high jacquard mechanics.

In this district filled with reddish houses, street names evoke this proletarian heritage, and a large square is named after the Canuts, with a statue of Jacquard at its center. In one of its alleys, there lies the "House of the Canuts" , a museum dedicated to these weavers who made Lyon’s fame in the 19th century.

The museum is directed by Philibert Varenne, himself the great-grandson of a silk worker, who seeks to maintain the memory of the Canuts and their skills. Its museum traces the history of Lyonnaise Silk, and holds a copy of a Mécanique Jacquard.

If Lyonnais are so protective of the Canuts’ history, it is because their social struggle and the way they united transformed the city and inspired several thinkers. Installing themselves in the Croix Rousse, a hill with cheaper rent, safe from river floods, they worked in very difficult conditions, working for 16 to 18 hour shifts for a very small pay.

Not unlike fair trade artisans in India, Canuts created self-help organizations, such as "Le Devoir Mutuel", founded in 1828. These organizations united artisans who received support in case of illness or unenmployment thanks to a monthly fee. Some Canuts also started to organized to negotiate better wages, take political action and defend the place of women in society.

In 1831, they founded the first worker’s newspaper, L’Écho de la Fabrique, where they thaught and discussed the best ways to defend their rights.

Vivid memories of the Canut’s struggle

In the mid 19th century, the Canut’s wages were decreasing. Furthermore, despite a liveral revolution in Paris, Canuts were disappointed to see that new legislation prevented them from organizing. To make matters worse, their buyers wanted them to give up their individual workshops and come to work in centralized factories. Despite repeated requests for an increase in wages, their demands are refused.

This indignation will lead to the famous Canuts Revolt of November 1831. Craftsmen demonstrate in the streets of Lyon under the slogan "Live free working or die fighting!". The rally was repressed by blood, but the memory of their fight remained and inspired thinkers such as Karl Marx and Flora Tristan.

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom

press to zoom
1/3

Images from the ENS Lyon archives

Despite their audacity and their organizational capacity, the Canuts faded away, replaced by mechanization and synthetic products. Only a few Mécaniques Jacquard remain, preserved by museums or associations, and used for special products.

 

Despite their disappearance, the organization and initiatives of the Canuts peoples continue to inspire many social movements around the world.

-Manuel-Antonio Monteagudo

Les Canuts - Une lutte ancienne pour le travail décent

Lyon, terminus des routes de la soie

Lyon, capitale de la région Auvergne-Rhône Alpes, est l’une des villes les plus anciennes de France, fondée par les romains sous le nom de Lugdunum au premier siècle avant notre ère. En tant que siège religieux chrétien le plus ancien du pays, elle est aussi une ville très importante pour les français de religion catholique.

Construite au confluent du Rhône, qui coule des Alpes Suisses jusqu’à la Méditerranée et de la Saône, Lyon a une réputation ancienne de ville commerciale, qui a reçu des commerçants venus des marchés prospères de Suisse et d’Italie. Encore aujourd’hui, Lyon est considéré une ville majeure en France, réputée pour sa gastronomie mais aussi pour son architecture romaine et médiévale et pour ses universités.

En tant que ville commerciale européenne majeure, Lyon est souvent considéré comme l’un des terminus des célèbres routes de la Soie. Ces routes connectaient jadis le riche empire Chinois aux états européens, dans un échange constant de connaissances et de produits, dont la fameuse soie-. Si cette connexion a toujours existé, elle a vécu son âge d’or pendant le Moyen-Âge Européen

La Soie arrive à Lyon au XVème siècle, alors vendue dans ses marchés par des artisans italiens. Après avoir constaté que les élites françaises raffolaient de ce tissus, le roi Louis XI entreprit de fonder des ateliers de soie en France. Après des débuts difficiles, ces ateliers finissent par s’implanter à Lyon, qui devient une véritable capitale de la production de soie pour les cours d’Europe.

En 1801, l’inventeur Joseph Marie Jacquard invente un mécanisme qui révolutionne les métiers de la soie : la mécanique Jacquard, une machine ingénieuse qui permet à un seul ouvrier de réaliser une étoffe complexe.

Cette nouvelle machine, qui simplifie énormément le travail de la soie, permet l’apparition d’une communauté d’artisans qui marquera l’histoire de Lyon : les Canuts, ouvriers tisserands de la soie.

L’héritage des canuts dans la ville de Lyon

 

Dans leur ville répartie sur deux collines autour du Rhône, les Lyonnais aiment distinguer « la colline qui prie » (Fourvière, à l’Ouest) de la « colline qui travaille » (la Croix Rousse, au Nord-Est). En effet, si des églises et basiliques chrétiennes sont semées sur l’ancestrale colline de Fourvière, celle de la Croix Rousse était jadis remplie d’ateliers de soierie, habités par les Canuts.

Aujourd’hui, les Canuts n’existent plus, et la Croix Rousse est devenu un quartier d’artistes, très apprécié des Lyonnais. Toutefois, son histoire canute est encore visible dans ses rues, avec ses immeubles à grands toits, où les Canuts installaient leurs mécaniques jacquard de 4 mètres de hauteur.

Dans ce quartier aux maisons rouges, le nom des rues évoquent ce passé, et une grande place porte le nom des canuts, avec une statue de Jacquard en son centre. Une de ses petites ruelles abrite la Maison des Canuts, musée consacré à la mémoire de ces tisseurs qui ont fait la renommée de Lyon au XIXème siècle.

Le musée est dirigé par Philibert Varenne, lui-même arrière-petit fils d’un travailleur de la soie, qui cherche à garder vivant le souvenir des Canuts et de leur savoir-faire. Son musée retrace l’histoire de la Soie Lyonnaise, et conserve un exemplaire de mécanique jacquard.

Si l’histoire des canuts est à ce point protégée par les Lyonnais, c’est parce que leur lutte et leur organisation en tant que groupe d’artisans a bouleversé la ville et inspiré de nombreux sociologues. Regroupés dans la Croix Rousse, colline aux loyers plus modestes et à l’abri des inondations, ils travaillaient dans des conditions bien difficiles, dans des journées de 16 à 18h très modestement payées. 

À l’instar des artisans équitables d’Inde, les canuts créent des organisations d’entraide, telles que « le Devoir Mutuel », fondé en 1828. Ces sociétés regroupent des artisans qui reçoivent des secours en cas de maladie ou de chômage grâce à une cotisation mensuelle. Certains de ces Canuts commencent à réfléchir sur les meilleures façons de négocier leurs salaires, prendre action politique et défendre le rôle des femmes dans la société.

En 1831, ils fondent le premier journal ouvrier, L’Écho de la Fabrique où ils s’informent et débattent sur les meilleures façons de défendre leur dignité,

La lutte des Canuts pour un travail décent, encore vive dans les mémoires


À l’époque, les salaires des canuts sont à la baisse. De plus, malgré une révolution libérale à Paris, les canuts sont surpris de constater que des législations nouvelles souhaitent les empêcher de s’organiser. Pour empirer les choses, leurs acheteurs souhaitent qu’ils abandonnent leurs mécaniques individuelles pour qu’ils viennent travailler dans des fabriques centralisées. Malgré les demandes à répétition pour que leurs salaires soient revus à la hausse, leurs réclamations sont refusées.

Cette indignation débouchera dans la célèbre révolte des canuts en Novembre 1831. Les artisans manifestent dans les rues de Lyon sous le slogan « Vivre libre en travaillant ou mourir en combattant ! ». La manifestation sera réprimée dans le sang, mais le souvenir de la lutte marqua les esprits et inspira des penseurs tes que Karl Marx et Flora Tristan.

1/3

Images issues des archives de l'ENS Lyon

Malgré leur audace et leur capacité d’organisation, les Canuts disparaîtront, avec l’apparition de la mécanisation et de produits synthétiques. Seuls quelques mécaniques Jacquard subsistent, conservés par des musées ou des associations, et utilisés pour des commandes spéciales.

Malgré leur disparition, la capacité d’organisation des peuples Canuts continue d’inspirer de nombreux mouvements sociaux dans le monde.

-Manuel-Antonio Monteagudo

artisans du monde.png
logo TARA mieux.png
fvr_logo_rgb.png
logo resacoop.jpg

Le contenu de ce site relève de la seule responsabilité d’ODDATARA et ne peut en aucun cas être considéré comme reflétant la position de l'Union Européenne.

Pour toute question, nous contacter sur: oddatara@gmail.com

© Webmaster Natacha Cailler. Vidéos, Articles, Photos et Webdoc de Manuel-Antonio Monteagudo