Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes

Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, a young region in eastern France

 

Auvergne-Rhône Alpes is one of the 13 regions of mainland France. Located in the east of the country, it shares borders with Switzerland and Italy. When one crosses it by car or by train, it is difficult to discern a common identity for it, as its landscapes are highly varied. The region is divided between the high mountains of the Alps to the East, the hills and extinct volcanoes of the Massif Central to the West, and crossed from North to South by the long Rhône valley.

 

Lyon, the region’s capital city, holds an ancient and prestigious history. However, many other cities of the region also hold high historical and cultural prestige in France.

The very existence of Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, a region created in 2015, is controversial. Indeed, it united two regions with strong cultural and geographic identities: Auvergne in the west and Rhône-Alpes in the east. As a young and highly diverse region, it still has to find a common identity.

AURA map.jpg

A region with an ancient and diverse history

 

The history of Auvergne and Rhône-Alpes dates back to ancient times. The Auvergne region was the political center of the Gallic peoples who controlled Western Europe, while the city of Lyon, established in the heart of the Rhone valley, was a major city of the Roman Empire. Both regions are therefore home to a very rich archaeological and cultural heritage.

 

Deeply intertwined with neighboring Switzerland and Italy, the Eastern side of Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes has always been a center of cultural and commercial exchanges, which strongly influenced is culture, architecture and crafts. For instance, the work of the Canuts, famed silk weavers from Lyon, would not have been possible without the arrival of these precious fabrics from Italy. Border towns like Annecy are renowned for their prosperity and their international cultural events.

 

With its 7,948,287 inhabitants in 2017, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes is the second most populous region in France (just behind Île-de-France, the capital region), but its populations are unevenly distributed, with the Rhône Valley holding its densest population, reuniting the cities of Lyon, Saint-Étienne, Grenoble and Valence. Auvergne, a much more rural part of the region, still holds the big city of Clermont-Ferrand as its capital, which attracts a lively community of artists, professionals and students.

 

As everywhere else in France, linguistic diversity is rapidly disappearing in Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, mainly due to the imposition of French language in public schools. While regional dialects die out fast, three of them are still identifiable: Occitan, Arpitan and Bourbonnais. Of those three, only Occitan and Arpitan are officially recognized by the region.

 

Adding to its ancient cultural legacy, the region’s cultural output is influenced by migrants in the region, attracted by its dynamic economy and coming from other countries in the European Union and abroad.

 

An ongoing search for unity

 

The unsavory name of "Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes" is testimony of its people’s difficulty to unite under a common history. Indeed, its name is merely the fusion of the names of the two regions that were united to create it: it was difficult to find a title that wouldn’t eclipse the deep specificities of both regions. Furthermore, there is a looming fear that the former Auvergne region will end up overshadowed by the more prosperous and populous oRhône-Alpes.

 

Despite this ongoing search for an identity, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes remains a region that is much appreciated by the rest of France. The thermal towns of Auvergne and the ski resorts of the Alps, with their varied landmarks, attract countless tourists every year. And for many Frenchmen, the crossing of the Rhône valley is synonymous to the “holyday road”: the exhilarating journey towards the sunny shores of the Mediterranean.

 

It remains to be seen whether Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes will manage to find an identity that satisfies all of its inhabitants, as has been the case of several of the new regions of France.

-Manuel-Antonio Monteagudo

Reportages tournés dans la région

ardthumb 6DEF.jpg
FIBRETHIKENGTHUMB.jpg
redthumb5defdoute.jpg
amthumb4DEFv2.jpg

Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes

Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, une région nouvelle à l’Est de la France

 

Auvergne-Rhône Alpes est l'une des 13 régions de France métropolitaine. Située à l’Est du pays, elle partage ses frontières avec la Suisse et l’Italie. En la traversant en voiture ou en train, il est difficile de lui donner une identité commune, tant ses paysages sont variés. Elle est en effet partagée entre les hautes montagnes des Alpes à l’Est, les collines et les volcans éteints du Massif Central à l’Ouest, et traversée du Nord au Sud par la longue vallée du Rhône.

 

Cette Région a pour capitale la ville de Lyon, à l’histoire ancienne et prestigieuse, mais elle renferme également de nombreuses autres villes à la renommée historique et culturelle pour toute la France.

L’existence même d’Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, région créée en 2015, est  controversée, car elle a uni deux régions à forte identité culturelle et géographique : l’Auvergne, à l’Ouest et Rhône-Alpes à l’Est. En tant que région jeune à la grande diversité, elle doit encore se trouver une identité commune.

Une Région à l’histoire ancienne et diverse

 

L’histoire d’Auvergne et de Rhône-Alpes remonte à l’antiquité. La région Auvergnate était le centre politique des peuples Gaulois qui habitaient l’Ouest de l’Europe, et la ville de Lyon, établie au cœur  de la vallée du Rhône, fut une ville d’une grande importance pour l’empire Romain. Ces deux régions abritent donc un très riche patrimoine archéologique et culturel

 

Région frontalière avec la Suisse et l’Italie, l’Est d’Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes a toujours été un centre d’échanges culturels et commerciaux, qui ont fortement influencé leur culture, leur architecture et leur artisanat. Ainsi, le travail des Canuts, célèbres tisseurs de Soie qui ont marqué l’histoire de Lyon, n’aurait pas été possible sans l’arrivée de ces précieuses toiles d’Italie.

Des villes frontalières, comme Annecy, sont réputées pour leur prospérité et leurs événements culturels internationaux.

 

Avec ses 7 948 287 habitants en 2017, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes est la deuxième région la plus peuplée de France (juste derrière l’Île-de-France, région capitale), mais sa populations est inégalement réparties, et la vallée du Rhône concentre la plus grande densité de population, avec les villes de Lyon, Saint-Étienne, Grenoble et Valence. L’Auvergne, beaucoup plus rurale, comporte tout de même la grande ville de Clermont-Ferrand comme capitale, qui attire énormément d’artistes, de travailleurs et d’étudiants.

 

Comme partout en France, la diversité linguistique s’est beaucoup perdue en Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, de fait de l’imposition de la langue française dans les écoles. Les dialectes régionaux sont en voie de disparition, mais trois d’entre eux sont encore identifiables : l’Occitan, l’Arpitan et le Bourbonnais. Toutefois, seuls l’Occitan et l’Arpitan sont reconnues par la région.

 

Au-delà de cette identité culturelle ancienne, de nouveaux apports culturels viennent des nouveaux habitants de la région, attirés par le dynamisme de son économie et venus d’autres pays de l’Union Européenne et de l’étranger.

 

Une unité encore à trouver

 

Le nom d’  « Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes » témoigne de la difficulté de ses habitants à se former une histoire commune. En effet, il n’est que la fusion des noms des deux régions que l’on a uni pour la créer. En effet, il était difficile de trouver un  nom qui n’éclipse pas l’histoire ancienne et les spécificités de ces deux régions. Il y a par ailleurs une véritable crainte que l’ancienne région Auvergne se voit éclipsée par celle de Rhône-Alpes, plus prospère et habitée.

 

Malgré cette recherche d’une identité qui se poursuit encore, l’Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes reste une région très appréciée du reste de la France. En effet, les villes thermales d’Auvergne et les stations de ski des Alpes, avec leurs divers sites historiques et culturels, attirent tous les ans d’innombrables touristes. Et pour de nombreux français, la traversée de la vallée du Rhône est indissociable de la « route des vacances » qui les mène de la capitale aux côtes de la Méditerranée.

 

Il reste à voir si Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes parviendra à trouver une identité où tous ses habitants se retrouvent, comme cela s’est déjà produit pour d’autres régions nouvelles de France.

-Manuel-Antonio Monteagudo

Reportages tournés dans la région

ardthumb 6DEF.jpg
fibthumb def.jpg
redthumb5defdoute.jpg
amthumb4DEFv2.jpg
artisans du monde.png
logo TARA mieux.png
fvr_logo_rgb.png
logo resacoop.jpg

Le contenu de ce site relève de la seule responsabilité d’ODDATARA et ne peut en aucun cas être considéré comme reflétant la position de l'Union Européenne.

Pour toute question, nous contacter sur: oddatara@gmail.com

© Webmaster Natacha Cailler. Vidéos, Articles, Photos et Webdoc de Manuel-Antonio Monteagudo